Saturday, April 11, 2009

Conficker and Traffic Converter

Most of us know why Conficker Worm was named CONFICKER but for those who don’t know why the name CONFICKER was chosen for this Worm, here is a little information.



The name of this Worm was kept as Con-Fic-K-Er because the Reversers who were analyzing this Worm’s first variant (W32/Conficker.A) found the presence of a string called “trafficconverter .biz”. The name of this Worm was taken fro this string by rearranging portions of this string.


Trafficconverter .biz = Traf+FIC + CON+Vert+ER = Con+Fic+”K”+Er = CONFICKER


The purpose of “trafficconverter .biz”, which later became “traffic-converter .biz” and “trafficconverter2 .biz”, was to increase affiliates so that the already existing misleading applications or better known as Rogue Applications can be installed in more and more systems around the world. A quote from “trafficconverter .biz” about the affiliate program is below:


What is Traffic Converter?

Traffic Converter is affiliate program that helps webmasters to convert their traffic into cash.


How it works?

We are selling popular antispyware and security software products to surfers which you send to us. You receive $30 for each sale of our products.


Why does it work so good?

With our direct-marketing approach, aggressive promotion materials and advanced software products you can earn much more than with other affiliate or advertising programs.


The owners of “trafficconverter .biz” were very much involved in spreading these misleading applications or commonly known as Rogue AntiSpyware. Even the Conficker.A variant also attempted to download a payload from their domain. However, this variant was never able to download the payload file hxxp://trafficconverter .biz/4vir/antispyware/loadadv.exe because the “trafficconverter.biz” domain was shut down as an early response to the Conficker Threat.


Also, mentioned below is the WhoIs detail of the “trafficconverter .biz” domain:


Domain Name: TRAFFICCONVERTER .BIZ

Domain ID: D22305317-BIZ

Sponsoring Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY .COM

Registrant Name: Daniel Adams

Registrant Organization: eosads

Registrant Address1: 13 Baterman Street

Registrant City: London

Registrant Postal Code: W1D 3AF

Registrant Country: UNITED KINGDOM

Registrant Country Code: GB

Registrant Phone Number: +41.225349854

Registrant Email: ddarkmaster@gmail .com

Last Transferred Date: Mon Dec 01 14:04:54 GMT 2008

Status: SUSPENDED (This Domain Name is Suspended)


The “trafficconverter .biz” domain operated along with various sister domains viz.


Domain Name: XPANTIVIRUS .COM

Registrant: VerifiedSofts

John Davidson ddarkmaster@gmail .com

London.Barnet str. 12/22

London, Barnet, 12012, GB

Tel. +44.7917722025

Creation Date: 20-Sep-2007

Expiration Date: 20-Sep-2010

Status: SUSPENDED (This Domain Name is Suspended)


Domain Name: ANTISPYGUARD .COM

Registrant: Verified Software

Victor Temchenko verifiedsoftware@gmail .com

Geroev Truda 68 - 136

Kharkov, 61038, UA

Tel. +38.0638550739

Creation Date: 23-Aug-2007

Expiration Date: 23-Aug-2009

Status: SUSPENDED (This Domain Name is Suspended)


Domain Name: ANTIVIRUS2009ONLINE .COM

Registrant: eosads

Daniel Adams ddarkmaster@gmai l.com

13 Baterman Street

London, W1D 3AF, GB

Tel. +41.225349854

Creation Date: 15-Aug-2008

Expiration Date: 15-Aug-2009

Status: SUSPENDED (This Domain Name is Suspended)


Domain Name: TRAFFIC-CONVERTER .BIZ

Sponsoring Registrar: ENOM, INC.

Registrant ID: DI_8661402

Registrant Name: John Davidson

Registrant Organization: VerifiedSofts

Registrant Address1: London. Barnet str. 12/22

Registrant Postal Code: 12012

Registrant Country: UNITED KINGDOM

Registrant Country Code: GB

Registrant Phone Number: +44.7917722025

Registrant Email: ddarkmaster@gmail .com



Refer to McAfee Site Advisor’s details about the online affiliations for “traffic-converter .biz”:






Domain Name: TRAFFICCONVERTER2 .BIZ

Domain ID: D28746672-BIZ

Domain Status: OK

Registrant ID: 43249773

Registrant Name: Privat person

Registrant Organization: Privat person

Registrant Address1: Rue la produit 34

Registrant City: Marseille

Registrant Postal Code: 13004

Registrant Country: France

Registrant Phone Number: +1.33491858954

Registrant Facsimile Number: +1.33491858954

Registrant Email: adultblogz7@yahoo .com

Billing Contact ID: 17289307

Billing Contact Name: XiaMen BizCn Computer & NetWork CO.,Ltd

Billing Contact Address1: 1F - 4F,

Billing Contact Address2: Software Technology Service Builing,

Billing Contact City: XiaMen, FuJian

Billing Contact Postal Code: 361004

Billing Contact Country: China

Billing Contact Phone Number: +1.865922577

Billing Contact Email: domain@bizcn .com

Domain Registration Date: Mon Dec 15 18:29:57 GMT 2008

Domain Expiration Date: Mon Dec 14 23:59:59 GMT 2009


Soon after “trafficconverter .biz” was taken down, the owners came back with a domain “trafficconverter2. biz”. However, they again went down saying that their payment processor had blocked them. Further to plead “Not Guilty” they issued a notice that they had no connection with the Conficker Mayhem. Read the disclaimer below:


This is absolutely unprecedented case when two of the largest payment system called the requirement to block the Merchant. We also have a reason to believe that the situation was caused by the recent publication about us and our products in Washington Post:
http://voices.washingtonpost.com/securityfix



There are, as you can see, some very serious accusations. Including the relation to Conficker, which we actually are not implicated with (and can prove it if necessary).



As a result of this situation:
- No money to pay;
- No capacity to process products (not because we're not working, but because this volume is not endure any processor)
- There is a chance to get ourselves under prosecution and let down Webmasters.


So, the decision was made to default and shut down the Traffic Converter. In case we resolve this issue and manage to refund the money from the bank, we will pay you off all debts as quickly as possible.
If we manage to get the stable traffic conversions we have demonstrated during the year and a half, we will contact you on individual basis.


Thanks to everyone for succesful business cooperation.



These sites are instrumental in distributing Rogue Applications and once a system is infected, they would go to every possible extent to apply the scare tactics and fooling the users to cough out money for applications that are anything but Security Softwares. These rogue applications can also inject code into the search results of Google or the homepage of Google itself (this means that the client system from where we are doing the search or opening the Google homepage is infected). Refer to the screen below:



For more information about these Rogue AntiSpyware Applications refer to the below article:

http://www.malwareinfo.org/files/RogueAntiSpyware.pdf